Parks elected to Bands of America Hall of Fame

George N. Parks, director of the Minuteman Marching Band, has been named to the Bands of America Hall of Fame in Indianapolis, Ind.

The hall of fame recognizes individuals who have greatly impacted Bands of America, the nation’s band activity and music education.

Now in his 28th year as the band’s director, Parks will be formally inducted on March 25 as part of the National Concert Band Festival Honors Concert.

Since taking over leadership of the band at the age of 24, said the organization’s announcement, “Parks has encouraged his students to reach for the stars in an effort to obtain their highest goals.”

Building upon a strong program led by John Jenkins, “Parks’ enthusiastic and entertaining approach to the marching band resulted in instant success with the football fans throughout the Northeast,” according to BOA. Under his leadership, the Minuteman Marching Band was recognized as one of the nation’s top bands in 1998 when it was awarded the Sudler Trophy.

Calling the news of his selection “stunning” and “humbling,” Parks said in an e-mail, “I NEVER could have imagined myself on a list with the other members of the Bands of America Hall of Fame. For those who know the world of college band (and football) it is like being on a list with Vince Lombardi and Tom Landry.”

Parks made his first appearance on the national scene as drum major of the award- winning Reading Buccaneers Senior Drum and Bugle Corps. He helped lead the Buccaneers to two DCA World Championships and received numerous individual honors, including eight DCA Championship Drum Major Awards and induction into the World Drum Corps Hall of Fame.

Each summer, more than 3,000 students from almost every state in the nation attend his Band Leadership Training Seminar and Drum Major Academy. He is a recipient of the Massachusetts Conductor of the Year Award and has been inducted into the Massachusetts Instrumental Conductor’s Association Hall of Fame. On campus, he has received the Distinguished Teaching Award and the Chancellor’s Medal for distinguished service. He was also named an honorary alumnus.